Infamous Domain Name Pirates of the Internet

For years now, I’ve received these ‘Domain Name Expiration Notices’ in the mail from this company named ’Domain Registry of Canada’. The bizarre thing is that they expect me to pay $40 plus GST for a domain name for one year. This is way more than what I currently pay which is about fifteen dollars. The letter itself is nicely written:

As a courtesy to domain name holders, we are sending you this notification of the domain name registration that is due to expire in the next few months. When you switch today to the Domain Registry of Canada, you can take advantage of our best savings…

 

dn-pirates

It’s quite clear that you would be switching over to a new company, but why would you? I’m guessing there must be the odd person out there that just has no clue and when they receive one of these expiration notices; they don’t remember their domain name registrar’s name and just simply think, “Oh, I’d better pay this so that my domain doesn’t expire!”

I know that I can safely ignore these direct mail expiration notices because my registrar automatically renews them.  This is a feature that I can turn on or off. Otherwise an email notification, not a printed letter, is all that is needed to keep my domain names from expiring.

Did you fall for it and switch to this company for no particular reason?

Post to Twitter Post to Plurk Plurk This Post Post to Yahoo Buzz Buzz This Post Post to Facebook Facebook

  1. Tara
    February 9th, 2009 at 10:56 | #1

    They’re aweful stuff! Don’t get caught up in their scams!

    Read more: http://www.twistimage.com/blog/archives/domain-registry-of-canada-scam-with-direct-mail-and-online/

  2. February 9th, 2009 at 12:44 | #2

    They nearly caught my dad out with this stuff. Its odd that there isn’t a rule to stop these guys.

  1. February 10th, 2009 at 00:26 | #1

Twitter links powered by Tweet This v1.6.1, a WordPress plugin for Twitter.